New Jobs

South African Geomatics Council Bursary South Africa 2021

Full Time

Website South African Geomatics Council

The South African Geomatics Council (previously the “South African Council for Professional and Technical Surveyors – PLATO”) is a committee of elected members, of which all qualified Professional GISc Practitioners; Surveyors; Technician Surveyors and Technologist Surveyors must be registered with.

South African Geomatics Council Bursary South Africa 2021


The bursary will be awarded to students who are currently registered or registering within on of the following fields of study:

  • Surveying (BSc/ BTech/ Diploma)
  • Geomatics (BSc/ BTech)
  • Mine Surveying (BTech/ Diploma)
  • Geographic Information System (Diploma)

Please note:
Students who have completed their qualification at university, must register as a Land Surveyor or a Professional GISc Practitioner within 4 years of completing their BSc Degree.

Students who have completed their National Diploma, must register as a Mine Survey Technician/ Survey Technician/ GIS Technician within 2 years of completing their National Diploma.

* Bursary conditions can be found on page 4 and 5 of the bursary application form.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen
  • Completed Matric
  • Studying towards one of the aforementioned qualifications
  • Registered to study at a recognised University or University of Technology in South Africa

The following South African Universities and Universities of Technology offer these qualifications:
Land and Engineering Surveying: University of Cape Town; University of KwaZulu-Natal; Durban University of Technology; Cape Peninsula University of Technology; Tshwane University of Technology; Mangosuthu University of Technology

Mine Surveying: University of Johannesburg; University of South Africa

Geo-Information Science: University of Cape Town; University of Stellenbosch; University of Pretoria; University of the Free State; Cape Peninsula University of Technology; Esri South Africa


Download and complete the South African Geomatics Council Bursary Application Form (.pdf)
Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy of)
  • Matric certificate (certified copy of)
  • Tertiary qualifications certificates (certified copy of)
  • June and November exam results (certified copy of)
  • Proof of registration at University/ University of Technology
  • Provisional acceptance letter at University/ University of Technology

Complete application forms and supporting documents must be posted to:
South African Geomatics Council
P O Box 83018
South Hills


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the SAGC directly:
South African Geomatics Council
Contact Person: Mari Pater (Mari Pater)
Tel: 011 626 1040 /1080
Fax: 011 626 2007
Email: [email protected]

    Share on

    Similar Jobs